Q 13 The spread of multinational companies and the increase of globalization produces positive effects for everyone To what extent do you agree or disagree

Recently, the impact of globalisation on individuals has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that an increase in the number of international corporations exerts a beneficial influence on everyday people, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from the growth of global companies. Perhaps the principal benefit is that international businesses that have established branches in local countries can stimulate economic success in these nations given that global firms creat a multitude of employment opportunities, allowing local residents to land a job with greater ease. In addition, from the perspective of customers, they are provided with more choices as they are capable of buying numerous kinds of global products, enabling them to have an improved standard of living.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to cotend that the globalisation trend merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that local nations can suffer from brain drain. This means that the majority of multinational corporations have a predisposition to hire competent job seekers by providing higher salaries as well as more perks than domestic firms, which often prevents them from finding good employees. Furthermore, international companies can give rise to cultural conflicts given that some of them are inclined to enter local markets without taking into account local environments and policies related to their business in order to maximise their profits. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.