Q16. Research says more and more business training and business meetings are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the question of whether an increase in the number of business meetings and training sessions for employees on the Internet is beneficial has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to participating in online business meetings, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that working adults can reap several advantages from attending business meetings on the Internet do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the development of technology has revolutionised the way working people can communicate with their colleagues regardless of time and place with greater ease considering that having access to the Internet is only needed. In addition, workers are able to save their time as commuting to and from work deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent on their commitment to work.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that holding business meetings on the Internet merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that online meetings prevent employees from receiving instant feedback from their co-workers in person, which can lead them to have difficulty concentrating on their duties. In other words, a multitude of working people are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of work, exerting a detrimental influence on their work performance. Furthermore, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for face-to-face meetings for employees, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their colleagues as well as senior managers helping them develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future career. To be more specific, mingling with others at the workplace enables them not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of partaking in online business meetings surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.