Q: Some people say that the feeling of competition should be encouraged in children, others say they should be taught to become cooperative. What is your opinion?

There is a general misconception about how one cannot have the traits of cooperation and competition at the same time. Both traits are necessary for a child to succeed in his life and should be encouraged to have both.

Firstly, being cooperative doesn’t simply imply that the child isn’t competitive or the other way around. For example, team sports encourage the child to coordinate and play in sync with the entire team as well as being competitive enough to strive for winning the game or excel in the respective sport, both the skills can go hand in hand. The parents' part in this part of their child's life would be to teach him the importance of competitiveness as well as cooperativeness and let the child be the better judge of how and when to use these.

Secondly, the child should be made aware of the fine line there is between being competitive and egoistic , being cooperative and being naive. Resulting in failure to understand the difference between both can have a very negative impact on the child's future. For example, if the child is too naive enough to understand when other people are taking his presence for granted and rather than being his friend , they are just in it for getting their work done or asking for favours. If the child is over competitive in his life it may end up in making him extremely job oriented and would make him forget that job is just apart of his life, not his life.This in turn may result in lack of human connection in his life; without friends and families it would soon take a toll on his mental health.

In conclusion, both attributes play a very important part in a child's life and only he can be the better judge of when to pick which attribute. Judgement is based on one's instincts and one cannot be taught instincts, they simply have them or don’t.