Q16 Research says more and more business training and business meetings are taking place online. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the question of whether online business meetings and training sessions are beneficial for workers has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to attending business meetings on the Internet, these are exceeded by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that employees can benefit a great deal from participating in online meetings do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that the development of technology has revolutionised the way working people can communicate with their co-workers regardless of time and place considering that having access to the Internet is the sole requirement. In addition, workers are capable of saving their time as commuting to and from work deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent devotion to their occupations.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that holding business meetings on the Internet merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that online business meetings prevent employees from receiving instant feedback from their colleagues in person, leading them to have difficulty concentrating on their meetings. In other words, a multitude of workers are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their duties, exerting a detrimental influence on their work performance. Furthermore, to provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for face-to-face meetings for employees, it would be nearly impossible for them to build strong relationships with their workmates as well as senior managers helping them develop interpersonal skills that will be invaluable in their future career. To be more specific, mingling with others at the workplace makes it possible for working adults not only to feel a sense of belonging but also to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the benefits of taking part in business meetings on the Internet surpass the drawbacks for the reasons discussed above.