The quality of life in large cities is decreasing. What could be the reasons behind this? What measures can be taken to resolve this problem?

In today’s world of increasing urbanization and modernization, more and more people are now living in big cities but it is also believed that the living standard there is declining. The root reasons for this problem are environmental pollution and crime rate which can be addressed by practical actions of both individuals and society.

The quality of living in big cities is worse because of some culprits. Firstly, big cities are home to many giant companies, corporations, and educational institutions, so that they are desirable destinations for many people not only within countries but also from abroad. This leads to tremendous negative effects on people’s life. For example, the increasing population will certainly cause traffic congestion as well as lower air quality. Secondly, in some big cities, the crime rate is believed to be considerably higher. Consequently, people will live under constant fear and threat since they can easily be robbed or injured anytime. This results in their stress-related illness. For example, in some Latin American cities, women are not encouraged to be outside alone at night.

There are some solutions that can be taken to better the situation. Firstly, for pollution problems, the measures have always been developing better public transportation systems and investing in cleaner energy. Individuals and authorities and join hands and improve this situation gradually. Secondly, it is scientifically proved that a peacefully, clean, and happy external environment can evidently reduce the crime rate. This is a factor that the government should consider carefully when planning urban regions. Most importantly, I truly believe that providing citizens with many opportunities and guidance to better their life is the most effective way to resolve this problem.

In conclusion, there are many factors that can reduce urban life quality such as environmental pollution and crime; however, there are also measures and solutions to reduce these effects. Mainly by planning our cities more wisely, taking care of our environment and its socio-economic effects on peoples' life.