With the rapid advancement of communication technology, eg smart phones, tablets and other mobile devices, some people believe that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the time of the technology boom, mobile devices have certainly revolutionized communication with its cutting-edge and sustainable development. However, I believe entirely that the drawbacks outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, with the thrills of technology, smartphones or tablets play an indispensable role in the way people contacting. The tendency of staying at home but using email to maintain and modify superbly job performances of several employees has increased dramatically, in lieu of working 8 hours a day at any institution. Furthermore, plenty of comforts of sending messages through social networking sites have assisted figures to keep in touch sustainably with friends and relatives. Without introducing restrictions on time or distance yet still providing adequate convenience, interacting using modern devices are going more and more viral.

On the other hand, people are becoming over-reliant on technological breakthroughs. There is no denying that this dependence has made it really difficult to engage face-to-face with others more regularly. In fact, the new way of communication has discouraged real interaction, as figures hardly hold a meeting twice or more a month. Accordingly, the opportunity to cement a strong relationship drops to a lower number. One more disadvantage is that once people are stuck behind mobile devices too much, this will carry more potential health risks. For example, their eyes can be damaged swiftly because of being glued to the screen, and a sedentary lifestyle can lead to being prone to obesity.

In general, despite the huge support of technological breakthroughs to stand people in good stead in communication, I would argue that the drawbacks are too crucial to be ignored.