Some people think the money spent in developing the technology for space exploration is not justified. There are more beneficial ways to spend this money. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is often assumed that investment in space exploration development is money squandering. While I disagree with the opinion, I believe that money should be spent on other fields that play a more integral part.

On the one hand, as environmental degradation has posed a threat to living conditions, it is becoming more and more common for the civilization to expect a new planet. In fact, chemical waste discharged into rivers or a dramatic rise witnessed in the total of carbon emissions has an adverse bearing on the environment. As a result, it is plausible for the national and local authorities to raise public spending on space exploration.

On the other hand, I firmly hold the opinion that pecuniary resources should be used wisely in order to combat some more serious problems. First of all, the subsidy is a major factor that should be paid more attention to. For example, the magnitude and frequency of extreme weather events have made food production highly vulnerable, and thus not only the food industry experiences a high probability of risks but also the farm holders would face budget deficits. Therefore, the state should increase the provision of subsidies to help people cope with the poor situation. Another difficult problem is to enhance the outcomes of health care. During the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, if the governments took action proactively on its serious influence by investing in improving hospitals and providing masks for figures, some nations would overcome the disease soon. Also, saving money for medical infrastructures and necessary subsidies before the pandemic taking place might help mitigate its huge damage.

All in all, although the aim of investing in space exploration is to strive towards a potential habitat, I believe entirely that in this day and age, diminishing environmental problems and alleviating an epidemic’s consequence should take precedence over space exploration.