In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles.

What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

In recent years, it is true that family structure and family roles have observed significant changes. In my opinion, those alterations can have positive impacts on family members.

Obviously, the modern family is different compared to that in the past in terms of its pattern and responsibility of some family members. Firstly, extended families nearly disappear and become nuclear ones. To be more specific, while the previous families tend to include more than two generations, families nowadays are only composed of parents and their offspring. Regarding transformation in the members’ roles, a huge number of women in the family have an occupation outside instead of doing chores solely as in the past. This also means that family households are now shared among mothers and fathers.

I believe that the aforementioned changes are positive because of the benefits they might bring to the family. First of all, fewer members in a family can reduce the number of conflicts, leading family members to live more comfortably. It can be understood that when there are only parents and their children, the generation gap is less significant than having grandparents to live with, which means divergence rarely appears. Another benefit of the transformation is that working mothers can help to tackle family financial issues and ease the burden of males. Whereas in the past, only men had jobs and they were obliged to work tremendously as breadwinners, women now also go out to earn salaries and support their family.

In conclusion, family patterns and members’ roles are quite different from the past, and I hold a strong belief that these changes can promote better family life.