The unlimited use of cars may cause many problems. What are those problems? In order to reduce the problems, should we discourage people from using cars?

With the advancement in the transportation field, cars have been used on a larger scale than before. It offers flexibility and provides ready access to many work and leisure options. However, recently, a range of issues associating with the uncontrolled increase in the use of cars have surfaced and need to be addressed. In this essay, I plan to identify those complicated problems and propose some feasible solutions to them.

Firstly, cities' catastrophic air quality can be attributed to the widespread use of cars. Exhaust gas emitted by car engines discharge a plethora of poisonous gases including carbon dioxide, hydrogen sulfide, and carbon monoxide, which are leading contributors to air pollution and detrimentally affect people's health by causing respiratory diseases and even lung cancer.

Another adverse aspect of the immense use of automobiles is traffic congestion. City-dwellers these days have gotten so used to being stuck in seemingly inescapable traffic jams. It is claimed that people often spend two to three hours solely for commuting to work and getting home, which might seriously damage employees’ work productivity as instead of resting, they are forced to spend an extensive amount of time on the road everyday.

To alleviate these problems, a section of society suggests the government impose a strict restriction on the aforementioned vehicle. However, from my point of view, this is not a suitable solution. Firstly, discouraging citizens from driving can result in a decline in the car manufacturing industry, which is one of the most important industries in numerous countries. Moreover, cars' mobility can be significantly helpful to people's lives. To solve this dilemma, the government should encourage car manufacturers to produce more environmentally-friendly and affordable car designs. Furthermore, ameliorations of the public transport system need to be made immediately in order to attract more residents into using it instead of driving.

To sum up, though automobiles have undoubtedly played a crucial role in people's lives ever since they were invented, the uncontrolled use of them can be damaging to society by degrading air quality and causing traffic congestion. In order to tackle those issues, discouraging people from using cars is definitely not a permanent cure. Instead, I recommend we invest more in cars that run on solar or electrical energy and improve the public transport system.