In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring ? Do you think these changes are positive or negative ?

It is true that in many countries, both the family pattern and family roles have been changing in a few decades. The following essay will analyze some of these changes as well as positive and negative sides of this tendency.

To begin with, there are several changes taking places in many families nowadays. Firstly, since today people are becoming more independent, people tend to live in a nuclear family rather than an extended family as they used to do in the past. Concretely, couples choose to live with their daughters and sons without grandparents or other relatives. In some cases, when turning 18 years old or older, many children decide to live far from their family, which can help them strongly build self-confidence. In terms of family, these days, most women are more likely to be working mothers instead of merely playing the role of a housewife. As a result, males have been no longer the breadwinners in their families.

In my view, the above development has not only merits but demerits. Regarding the advantages, this change provides individuals with more opportunities to gain success in their life. For instance, being offered the chance to work, many females today have promoted to major positions in large companies or even achieved higher education. Similarly, the choice to live separately from parents allows young couples to have more personal space and more freedom to enjoy life. Also, there would be less misunderstanding and conflict between family members because of the generation gap when three generations live together. Nevertheless, when giving birth, these couples may face with difficulties in taking care of babies as it is hard for them to hire a baby sister who has both child nursing care experience and passion with their children. Moreover, family bonds might possibly lessen as a consequence of physical distance.

In conclusion, the family structure and family roles have altered in recent years in some ways and I argue that this trend has both pros and cons.