Some people think that children should begin their formal education at a very early age. Some think they should begin at least 7 years old. Discuss both views give opinions ?

People hold different views about at what age children should start their official education. While some claimed that it would be better to allow kids to attend elementary schools when they are at least 7 years old, I would argue that children could have formal education earlier.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why it is believed that 7 should be the minimum age to begin learning officially. Firstly, since many parents do not want their children to be put under pressure of study at a very early stage of life. And this will enable their children to enjoy an innocent and carefree childhood. Indeed, in some Asian countries like VietNam, a major part of elementary school pupils have been experiencing intensive studying programs that do not allow them to have to time to play and this probably cause some negative impacts on their psychology and physical health. The second reason is that when turning 7 years old, kids have significant mental and physical development, which enable them to manage their study at school well. As a result, they are more likely to achieve the best school performance.

On the other hand, I believe the appropriate time for kids to go to school is when they turn 6 years old. The fact is that for years, children have started their formal education at this age and gained success without many difficulties. Scientific evidences have also proved that at this stage, kids have enough brain development to do basic calculation and certain educational activities. Therefore, if parents do not send 6 year - old kids to school, it may be a waste of time and investment for their kids’ future. Moreover, in any society, children will become the main workforce for the country development later on. If they begin their education path lately, there may be a shortage of skillful labor – force for the whole nation. This may lead to a degrade in the economic growth prospect in that country as well.

In conclusion, people have opposite ideas about when children should go to school officially. In my view, 6 years old is the perfect time for them to go to elementary school.