In recent years, farming practice has changed to include methods such as factory farming and the use of technology to improve crops. Some people believe these developments are necessary, while others regard them as dangerous and advocate a return to more traditional farming methods. Discuss both points of view and give your own opinion.

It is argued that farming methods have been revolutionized in recent years. Although I think the net effect of these changes is for the benefit to mankind, I myself believe that the drawbacks far outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, some people said that innovations in agriculture seems to be positive. In fact, the world population has been growing so dramatically that traditional methods of agriculture appear not to provide enough food to the people in the world. Besides, when natural disasters like droughts or flooding happens, the risk of people suffering famine will be more considerable. Therefore, developing countries all over the world should focus more on efficient and advanced methods of farming such as applying genetically modified crops. In addition, the quality of life of farmers will be improved since such advances make less labor intensive.

On the other hand, there are some reasons making other people support a return to smaller scale and more organic farming. Firstly, the fact that we are over-dependent on factory farming and technological applications brings about diseases like bird flu, swine flu. Secondly, the number of chemicals like pesticides overused in factory farms results in soil and water pollution, which affects the local eco-system. The last reason is organic food is much healthier to people’s health because no scientific evidence shows the safety of genetically modified food.

In conclusion, although there are arguments for both sides of the case, I think the long-term dangers of this trend is so cautious. I suggest people should invest more in upgrading traditional farming methods to make them more efficient and stronger legislation should be applied to ensure that both factory farms and genetically modified crops are safe to the environment and human consumption.