In recent years, many governments have brought in laws to ban smoking in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking is injurious to health as governments are taking steps such as banning smoking in public areas, namely bars, restaurants, and offices. Despite the fact that there are numerous benefits that tobacco industry brings to government, I agree with the idea of completely ban smoking. This is because it is not only harmful to those who smoke but also to those who are nearby.

On the one hand, tobacco industry brings multiple benefits to the government and to society indirectly. companies which are producing them pays high amount of taxes every year. In india, for example, these companies are required to 28% income tax annually. This money can be invested in medical research, healthcare, and education. However, not banning smoking could be beneficial for short term, but long term it has severe consequences on society.

On the other hand, banning smoking could be beneficial to society because it has severe effects on health and can cause diseases such as lung cancer,heart attack, and asthma. However, symptoms of these are long-term but the result is inevitable. A research conducted at Stanford University, California in 2015 in which they found that one out of five Americans die due to smoking. Furthermore, 65% of cancer cases were found addicted to smoking.

To conclude, while it is true that the tobacco production companies do benefit government and society in the form of tax and employment prospects, the public's health is more important. I personally believe smoking should be banned but it should be done in such a way that employees and economy does not suffer.