In recent years, more and more people choose to live in nuclear families. However, many others would prefer to stay in families with many generations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of individuals choosing living in nuclear families while many others would rather stay in extended families. This essay is going to discuss both viewpoints.

On the one hand, nuclear families give their members a lot of advantages. Obviously, living in a nuclear family brings much superb happiness to adults. For instance, if parents who have to work hard to earn money see their offspring, they will be more motivated and energetic in life. Moreover, good parents in nuclear families have a profound influence on kids’ behaviour because they make an ideal example for their children to follow. For examples, apart from teachers, parents are the second tutor educating kids life skills like table manners or good behaviours with others, which are rarely taught in schools.

On the other hand, extended families also bring a lot of meaningful values to their members. Clearly, the elderly who are taken care of in an extended family can find happiness for the rest of their life. For example, because grandparents had encountered many unstable periods in the past, they tend to share with children about their heroic stories, thus eliminating the generation gap. Apart from strengthening family bonds, living in extended families can reduce household financial burden. To illustrate, when adults go to work, they do not have to hire babysitters because grandparents can take care of little children for them.

In conclusion, living in nuclear families and extended families all have great benefits to their members. From my point of view, I think everybody should take well the responsibility with their relatives regardless of types of family they live in for the sake of home’s happiness.