In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits.

What is your view of the relationship between equality and personal success?

Individual Freedom & Merit to Personal Success

There is a relationship between equality and personal success. Personal success is more important to sustain in this world with fast pace. In my opinion, personal success is more important than equality because personal success provides an individual with a sense of freedom & makes a person self -sufficient. The explanation of abovementioned reasons are as follows.

Firstly, personal success provides an individual with a sense of freedom. When a person is successful with his or her own merit, then it gives the person freedom to achieve whatever he or she wants. For instance- I am a lawyer. When I wanted to study law, initially my family did not agree to let me study law. But when I have successfully studied law in my own merit now they are letting me to go abroad and achieve my dream to be a criminologist. To me, when I became a lawyer that was my success and when my family is letting me to go abroad and achieve my dream that’s my freedom. So, it can be safe to say that, personal success and freedom comes hand in hand.

Moreover, personal success makes a person self-sufficient. Personal success gives a person certain level of confidence and independence. For instance- After becoming lawyer, I got a job in at a Law Firm in my own merit. Now, I bear my day to day expenses by myself. I don’t ask for money from my family. Therefore, it can be said that personal success makes a person self- sufficient.

However, equality is also important. If equality does not prevail in a society, that society cannot develop in a proper manner. Although, equality is important to develop the society but personal success will develop an individual. With individual development a society cannot be developed.

To conclude, it can be said that personal success is more important than equality because personal success provides an individual with a sense of freedom & makes a person self -sufficient. To keep the pace of personal success, sound mind is a necessity. So, people must maintain the peace of their mind.