In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits.

What is your view of the relationship between equality and personal success?

While some people think that a society with equal rights will make individuals achieve success, others feel that success depends on self-worth. This essay opines that both these elements are required in order to fulfil one’s goals and ambitions.

To begin with the important with of equal rights, an egalitarian society facilitates people to pursue their goals regardless of their gender. For example, most of the western countries believe in equality when it comes to pursue individual goals, such as Australia, France, America, and this freedom of pursuing dreams and ambitions without gender discrimination provides people the impetus to fulfil their ambitions. Thus, in an egalitarian community individuals are more likely to achieve success as compared to other nations.

However, providing equal opportunities to people will not make them successful; self-worth is also of identical important. The reason for this is simple, even if government provides ample job prospects to its citizens, only proficient candidates would secure a job. As an old saying, success is where an opportunity and preparation meet, so only giving equal rights will not make individuals successful. Traits such as hard work, perseverance and aptitude matters too. For instance, Thomas Edison, inventor of the light bulb, failed almost one thousand times before inventing the perfect bulb. Therefore, self-worth is equally important when it comes to attain success.

To conclude, a society without discriminations may provide equal chances of success to its people; however, unless the people have perseverance and the motivation to achieve their goals, success is not likely to happen. An amalgamation both these elements are instrumental in achieving individual goals.