To reduce the dependence on modern technology, some families have tried “digital detox”- spending some time together away from electronic devices such as televisions, computers and smartphones. Do you think it is a good trend? What’s your point of view on this issue? Write in an essay of at least 300 words

It is widely acknowledged that electronic devices exert profound influence on daily life. In order to reduce the reliance on technology, digital detox, which prevent people from using electronic products, is considered as an ideal way. In this essay, I am going to demonstrate various effects that the method has on people before showing how this is a positive trend.

Living without using electronic devices affects people in numerous way. First and foremost, conducting digital detox could reduce several health problems as overusing digital devices could lead to a physiological addiction similar to drug addiction as well as disorders seen in people who addicted to alcohol or caffeine. Should digital detox be conducted, the frequency of browsing social media could be reduced so that people could spend more times taking on new habits and learning new skills, which in turn relieve the symptoms of addiction and improving holistic health. Additionally, detoxing could encourage and strengthen social interaction between people, which may prevent isolation and improve happiness. A study in 2019 demonstrated that spending an excessive amount of time using digital gadgets may have a long-term influence on communication skills such as eye contact or body languages due to the lack of face to face communication. As a result, digital detox can promote social interaction between people in the long run

Simultaneously, digital detox is also causing people feeling of isolation and loneliness as getting rid of digital device cut people from their normal means of communication. For those heavy reliant on electronic gadgets, detoxing may take a toll on people by triggering anxiety and stress in tandem with causing irritability and mood swings. An international study has shown that abstaining from social media could be a bane to individuals as people who abstained from using digital devices witness a decrease in life satisfaction. Therefore, detoxing may not necessarily bring about positive impacts.

In conclusion, as people tend to rely more on digital devices, I am convinced that detoxing could be an positive trend due to the benefits it has.