Reducing global environmental damage should be handled by governments rather than individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Environmental issues are a heated debate in recent years. Although many essential steps have been taken by many governments to handle global environmental problems, individuals have more responsibility to tackle these issues. In my opinion, collaborative efforts of both government and people can bring down the environmental damage in the world.

To begin with, since environmental issues are a greater concern for many governments, they have initiated several laws to protect our nature. Whereas, as individuals, we have certain responsibilities to minimize our contribution to this damage. Firstly, if we make minimal alterations in our day to day life, we can reduce the severity of these problems to a great extent. For example, using more public transportations rather than privately owned vehicles cut down the fuel usage and thus reduce the possible pollution rate.

In addition, even if people prefer to use plastic bags as they offer more comfort, they should accept and use the paper bags which is considered more environmental friendly. Of course, government can ban plastic bags internationally, but it is up to us, how we ignore the plastic bags.

Moreover, many researches are ongoing to use the renewable energy sources effectively by government. If individuals are not ready to accept the new invention like solar energy, windmill and so on, then there is no point to invest large amount on it to solving the threat to environment.

In conclusion, I would like to emphasize that, government authorities are accountable to ban plastic usage and to conduct awareness programs since it decraese the use plastic and create awareness about the consequences of more cars on street. Even though growing global environmental damage is great concern to all governments, it is our duty to follow the rules and regulations to protect the world.