Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the era of technological boom, it is obviously shown that various types of communication are happening online. This trend has both benefits and drawbacks that will be discussed below.

In terms of beneficial impacts, the network is opening up a new possibility for people to host a meeting online from home. Instead of going to the office or straightaway to the meeting room on a daily basic, more and more people have the chance to finish their jobs and have classes at home. Another merits of working or training through online platform is that users do not need to waste time and money on commuting and transportation, which gives them the flexibility to arrange their timetables around their own lifestyles. Employees who work at home are also found to be more efficient and active than in a traditional office environment.

On the other hand, there are some still potential risks that may be posed when using online - based meetings, discussion or training sessions. The use of web conferencing system to host online demands the stable Internet connection in order not to disrupt the communication and cause any uneccessary misunderstandings. For this reason, online meetings can cause a great damage to the owner and participants, which may leads to miss the information or even lengthen the duration of the meetings. Therefore, the firm needs to spend the huge amount of money setting up a high quality web conference system in order to avoid the technical problems. In other words, the cost of maintaining and upgrading the broadband may cost an arm and a leg for some big companies.

To sum up, online business meetings or training do benefit the general public but sometimes the users may be put at potential risks. Thanks to the online platforms, business may reduce some of their expenses and extend their business internationally.