The responsibility for the environment rests with the individual and not only with the government Do you agree or disagree

While some people argue that the environment should be protected by governments, others think that people should have an obligation to take care of it. In my opinion, many people are unwilling to take the necessary steps to protect the environment, and that is why authorities should be obligated to deal with the issue.

As individuals are prime contributors to the current destruction of the environment, they should be involved in taking care of it. In other words, they should work collectively to safeguard the planet earth, including bringing awareness programs of climate change’s implications for future generations to come and collecting money to repair already damaged areas, such as Ganga river. However, although this seems perfectly workable, many people will not perform this without the intervention of governments as they are reluctant to involve due to the obvious reasons, such as unwilling to donate money and time to such programs.

Government has the potential to curb environmental problems, thereby protecting the atmosphere. More precisely, if authorities were to effect strick policies, such as enforcing extra taxes for overconsumption of energy, to the public, then there would a chance to preserve nature. Scared to pay extra bills, people would restrict themselves from breaching the rules. For example, ever since Telangana's government imposed laws on fuel usage, it has witnessed a 15% decline in the carbon footprint of the area. Thus, governments have the ability to transform people’s involvement in the destruction of the environment.

In conclusion, even though some people have the interest to protect the environment, others may not encourage them to perform things linked to saving the mother nature. Nevertheless, with the governments’ stringent laws, the environment can be preserved.