In many countries weddings are getting bigger and more expensive than the past Is this a positive or negative development

Marriage ceremonies are increasingly becoming excessively bigger and costly in many countries. Although these occasions are significant for many people, some attributes make this practice a negative development.

First of all, a massive amount of food is wasted in the name of big weddings, which would otherwise feed on several people. In other words, one of the primary factors that a wedding is regarded as an expensive and huge is the types of cuisines and the amount of food being served to guests. Unable to eat, many guests often leave a generous amount of that in their plate itself, leading to an abundance of food wastage. For instance, 10 tons of eatables that are sufficient for 1 million people to eat is going into dump yard every year because of such celebrations. Therefore, an increasing number of large weddings can be led to negative development.

Furthermore, these occasions call for significant energy that can be otherwise used for several days or even months in a typical household. More precisely, in many countries, marriage functions take place more than four to five days with different rituals and themes that consume energy massively. For instance, I was shocked to learn that a wedding I visited last year that lasted for four days with multiple celebrations, that they used a thousand kilowatts of electricity. This energy can be used by an average middle-class family for a year. Thus, such wastage exemplifies that the practice of costly weddings is not acceptable.

In conclusion, people are misusing necessities, such as food and power in the name of big and expensive weddings. As this continues, the rate of food and power shortages increases to a certain extent every year. As a result of this, this approach can be defined as a negative development.