The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous governments expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. Dou you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that the preservation of ancient buildings in big cities in the world costs huge governments spending. This money should be spent in new social houses and roads. While there might be some supporting arguments, I still agree with this view due to more convincing reasons.

On the one hand, this opinion seems reasonable simply because many citizens in some countries are faced with housing and traffic problems. To take Ho Chi Minh City and other big cities as an example, traffic congestion is serious issues. Thus, the government should invest its money in sectors to address urgent problems

In spite of the arguments above, I highly go against this view for the following reasons. The first argument is that the preservation of old buildings could bring many benefits to the whole society. To illustrate, those buildings often create the identity of cities to attract tourists throughout the world. Hence, it is likely to boost the development of tourism, and this may provide employments and business opportunities for local people.

Another reason is that the government funding which costs the ancient buildings preserve the cultural and historical values of the country. For example, old buildings and historical sites are associated with events as well as architecture in the past. As a result, the government and citizens have to protect these buildings to keep traditional values for the next generations

In conclusion, although I recognize possible arguments to accept the discussed view, there are more convincing reasons to believe that this idea is unreasonable