Today, fewer elderly people live with their children than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, It is true that more and more old people live apart from their children. While there might be some benefits, I would argue that this trend has far more drawbacks.

On the one hand, this tendency seems beneficial simply because elderly people who do not live with their children could make young people more independent. For example, Most students who live in a dorm do a wide range of activities, such as cleaning, cooking, managing money, and solving problems by themselves. As a result, they may be well-prepared for their new challenges in the future

In spite of the arguments above, I believe that downsides are more significant for the following reasons. Firstly, the increasing number of old people living apart from their children might have negative impacts on social life. To illustrate, old people who live countryside often have fewer interactions with young people moving to big cities for work and study. Hence, These people are likely to fall into social isolation, which may suffer from mental diseases, such as depression. Another reason is that The generation of elderly who do not live with their children could weaken traditional and cultural values. To take my country as an example, Vietnam's old people usually keep their traditions and customs while young people often adopt a new lifestyle of western societies. Thus, they are more likely to lose identity of the country, and this may limit tourism development

In conclusion, although I recognize the possible positive effects of the discussed trend, It seems to me that it is a negative development overall