Restricting air travel is the only way to prevent air pollution. Do you agree?

It is generally believed that the best feasible solution to the air-polluted prevention is the limitation of air travel industry. Despite this, I completely believe that there are more major contributors to the air pollution than air travel.

The first reason in favor of my argument is that air travel industry is not the main pollutant. Despite some emissions from various daily flights, the amount of harmful gas is negligible and could not have devastating effects on the air quality. In comparison with the polluted gas emitted from means of transportation such as buses, cars and factories, air travel only plays a minor role in affecting the atmosphere. Such uncontrolled manufacturing and purchasing vehicles as well as the reliance on fossil fuels are the major causes of considerable influencing the air quality.

Another reason supporting my view is that the limitation of daily flights would be a barrier to tourism development. In fact, most tourists would be less likely to travel to a foreign country having strict rules and restricted flights. Foreign currency would be limited and tourist attractions lose monthly revenue. Besides that, import and export of goods would be inconvenient for ships, leading to scarce foreign products being not available in local area. These two factors result in the economic crisis and slow down development nation but not resolving the polluted air issue.

In conclusion, restricting air travel would not be a cost-efficient and workable approach to improve the air quality. Moreover, this policy from the authorities would exert adverse effects on the national economy.