Rising university fees and limited employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and should only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

education is a fundamental right of an individual, some people may feel art courses are not important but the matter of fact is all the subjects should be given equal importance and opportunities in universities keeping in mind the sentiments of the student who wants to opt for arts courses.

No doubt, practical courses attract more employment by industries and are having more weight age for the student to get employed as compared to art subjects, like philosophy and history. Planing to drop arts courses from university cannot be considered a permanent solution for employment, instead universities should focus more on giving practical knowledge to the art student and plan a path for there career. considering the number of historical and ancient monuments across the globe that need to conserve for our future or upcoming generation. these require special skills which are empowered by art courses, apart from that they can have a career in tourism, hotel management, media, and many more with proper planning more employment through these courses can be generated.

I have seen many students from the arts are doing well and have established themselves well in society, one of my friends who have chosen art courses and have successfully started his career in hotel management is doing well and have well-established career.

I want to conclude perhaps art courses does not generate much employment opportunities, but a significant amount of employment can be generated for these courses and can not overcome the desire of the student if anyone wants to opt for art then he should not be denied education as it is his basic rights and are equally important as that of practical courses.