Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Employment for students are becoming scarce now-a- days and is very difficult for them to get job in this competitive world. Some people think that subjects, like philosophy , history and increasing university fees spoil students way of thinking and it leads to unemployment for graduates. They believe offering practical degree courses may maximize chances of employment. This essay will argue that why providing practical degree courses is entirely necessary rather than teaching arts subjects.

On one hand, subjects related to arts like philosophy and history are traditional subjects and some people argue that these should not be removed from the syllabus. These subjects give knowledge about our leaders and important dates that should be remembered in our lifetime. Indeed, there have been some recorded instances that including these subjects will not reduce employment opportunities. It is provided just for sake of extra information students should learn. Students who studied these subjects offered with good package gives universities example for not eliminating these subjects. These few instances have bolstered why it is not necessary to remove arts subjects.

On the other hand, the idea that arts subjects gives knowledge is completely preposterous, because for any offer in present generation the interviewers ask about practical projects done by the students, they will not ask about history questions. By studying the history it ruins our time, instead we can spend our time for the practical degree courses where many questions are asked in the interview. For example, students who concentrated on only practical degree courses offered with more jobs than students who concentrated on all courses both arts and practical courses. Overall, the idea that learning only practical degree courses help students get the jobs very easily.

This essay argued that people supporting practical degree courses increases chances of employment is completely accepted. In my opinion, offering only practical degree courses improves employment is an absolute imperative that is entirely justified despite some history knowledge is not known.