Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects like philosophy and history and only offer practical degree courses that maximize chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Increasing university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have tended some people to tell that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only provide practical degree courses that expand the probability of employment. Looking at the current scenario, graduates with practical degrees are highly employed as compared to other subjects like arts subjects. As we know, everything has its value in its respective field. Seeing all these, I disagree with the statement that only practical degrees should be given priority.

First of all, employment is essential for all as it is the main aim after certain degrees. Surely, a person with good practical knowledge can work smoothly and confidently because s/he has an idea regarding it. Highly skilled manpower is a requirement of many companies. For example, a reputed company selects its staff who knows about computer programming and can prepare worksheet that is based on practical learning.

Although subjects like philosophy and history are not demanding, it has importance to some extent. In the university, the subject of the arts can be taught as an entertaining subject. If it is done so students will also have less pressure and they will get a chance to learn about the history that is how the past was. For instance, students will be clear on how human beings evolved from the ancient stone age to the modern age.

To sum up, it is necessary to teach all the subjects because we already explained the importance of practical degrees along with the subject of the arts which includes philosophy and history without pressurizing the students.