Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary settings, increasing university fees and low employment prospects for graduates have been major concerns among the public. Thus, there exists a recent belief that universities ought not to involve arts subjects in the curriculum and only teach practical courses that are useful for students' future career paths. Personally, I am in consummate discord with this viewpoint by virtue of benefiting a host of art-inclined individuals and providing a balance in tertiary education.

To begin with, it is irrefutable that arts-based degrees are of paramount importance to a number of arts-majored students. Since those undergraduates have talents in arts subjects, they should have a right to follow a curriculum that can express their strengths. Without subjects like philosophy or history, not only society will be understaffed in these departments in the future, but students whose interests are arts subjects will not be able to fully exploit their potential. For instance, should a student excellent at history be forced to study Maths and the like, his career prospects in the future will be scarce as he is not qualified enough. Instead, this person must have been an eminent historian once he is allowed to pursue subjects he is keen on.

Furthermore, an educational equilibrium will be disturbed if universities completely abandon arts subjects. In addition to science-based degrees, arts-degree support undergraduates with new knowledge from diverse fields. Thanks to the fact that they can witness their lives and issues from different spectacles, their problem-solving skills will be more advanced. As a result, this will indubitably be useful for the holistic development of students. In the future, they will become reliable and are more likely to gain promotions in their workplaces.

In summary, eliminating arts subjects is not a wise idea as it will exert deleterious impacts on many individuals. Therefore, the public should be more open-minded and accept this educational format in order to ensure a sustainable development of society.