In schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts while boys like science. What are the reasons for this this trend and do you think this tendency should be changed?

Students are free to choose the majors that they enjoy when they go to schools or enroll in universities. However, there is a tendency that the majority of girls choose to learn arts whereas boys are more interested in science classes. There are several reasons for this difference in choices of two opposite genders in education. In my opinion, I students should keep following this trend in the future.

In the past, people implied that girls should stick to arts while leaving the science part such as Maths, physics and chemistry to boys. However, there are some other reasons why this trend still exists nowadays. To begin with, there is an aspect of art majors which is more suitable for girls because of the way their brains work. Because female students usually think in emotion, their ability of creating good arts is far more advanced than the opposite gender’s. In contrast, men not only can evaluate projects or assignments logically but also have better organizing skills in thinking. Hence, they tend to join classes that involve science.

However, some people think that this trend is leading to an unbalance number of male or female students in majors and thus, such tendency should be changed. In my perspective, I am strongly opposed this idea because I believe it is better to just allow people to choose what is suitable for them. In consequence, students can quickly develop the skills they need in their fields they have chosen to learn. Furthermore, after they finish their studying, they can then collaborate together in future projects that require both arts and science majors, which solves the problem of gender imbalance.

In conclusion, there are good reasons for girls to choose art majors while boys tend to participate in science classes. Hence, this trend should not be changed any time in the future.