Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a highly debatable topic of whether or not schools still play an important role among students since they can attend Internet-based self-study in the home. Personally, I completely disagree with this view.

On the one hand, the Internet is not a suitable tool for children to study alone at home for some reasons. One reason is that student would hardly focus on their lessons when studying without teacher’s guidance. If there are no teachers, students will not follow a lesson and work individually throughout learning time. Especially, they can be distracted by enormous entertainment sources from the internet. Another reason is that teachers are trained to impart knowledge in the most imaginable and fascinating ways, while the information from the internet should only play as supplementary tool. Because of applying the theory to practical applications, students can have a good grasp of the lessons and widen their horizons competently.

On the other hand, schools play an integral part in educating children for a few reasons. Firstly, transmission of knowledge is more effective in face-to-face learning with teachers rather than online learning. In fact, classrooms would encourage the real interaction among students, which plays an integral part in boosting critical thinking and creativity of them. In this way, they can gain vital social skills like teamwork. Secondly, when studying under supervision, parents can keep track with their off-spring learning process thanks to feedbacks from teachers. As a result, children will make progress in their studies.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that school plays an indispensable role in studying of students.