Schools should ask students to evaluate their teachers. Do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion about how the school authorities could promote effective teaching practices and enhance educational quality. Some people suggest that one of the feasible ways to attain these two goals is to allow students to assess their teachers’ pedagogical performance, and I strongly subscribe to this view to a large extent for two reasons.

To begin with, students should be granted permission to carry out a proper evaluation of teachers’ performance, for this could spur teachers to improve on their weakness and update their knowledge in order to maintain their professional competence. For example, a science teacher, who is weak in mathematics, might be oblivious of his shortcoming, continuing to ignore this little foible in the absence of teacher assessment. However, a year-end evaluation done by students in an honest and polite manner could give this teacher an opportunity to identify his Achilles’ heel.

In addition, assessing teacher performance can help ascertain whether teachers fulfill their duty. As we know, teachers’ conscientiousness and devotion, together with their effective teaching, play a pivotal role in maximizing student engagement and learning. If teachers deliberately shirk responsibilities and muddle through their teaching jobs, this reckless attitude would adversely affect students’ academic performances. For instance, some irresponsible teachers get examination papers checked by students. Without reading students’ learning output, these lazy teachers cannot know what are still baffling their students, and neither can they know if they need to modify teaching methods. Nevertheless, the evaluation system, which protects students’ rights in the classroom, always reminds teachers to be respectful for their jobs because their attitude and performance are being examined by their students.

To recapitulate, the idea of appraising teachers’ performance is completely acceptable. Not only does this mechanism enhance teaching competence and help teachers foster a sense of responsibility but it also guarantees students the better quality of education. Therefore, I completely agree that schools should require students to evaluate their teachers in pursuit of high-caliber education.