Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an increasingly popularised opinion that learning a foreign language should not be compulsory for children at school. Although it can be beneficial to a certain extent, I agree with the aforementioned statement for the following reasons.

On the one hand, learning languages is obviously essential for children’s lives. It is a prerequisite for employees of the majority of companies. As international trade has exploded in this globalized world, recruiters value candidates who can speak more than one language. Hence, if juveniles master a foreign language at an early age, the amount of time spent on studying subsequently can be reduced since they will only have to learn academic subjects that cater to their better performance at work. Additionally, learning languages can expand their worldview. Each language has its own style and partly reflects the culture and heritage of the native country. Therefore, not only do children learn its language, but they also acquire a deeper understanding of its unique perspectives, enhancing the outdated prejudice rooted in their minds.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned virtues of foreign language learning, there are numerous issues related to the act of forcing children to learn another language that justify its prohibition. Chief among these is the decreased efficiency of learning. Being made to learn a language they do not want to learn can cause lethargy and disinterest among juveniles. Afterward, they are likely to obtain a low attendance record at school, which negatively affects their school profile, and even worse, getting a decent occupation with lucrative incomes can be out of reach. Another point worth considering is that students might face the potential threat of mixing languages. According to a recent report, 20% of children encounter language issues due to their early exposure to a language different from their mother tongue. At this stage, children have not mastered their native languages yet. Therefore, if they learn another language, they might encounter language disorders, in which their brains are overwhelmed when managing to learn the two languages simultaneously.

In conclusion, while learning a foreign language can exert several advantages, it should be optional for children. It is recommended that schools apply several measures to raise the children’s awareness of the importance of proficiency in a foreign language to encourage their interest in linguistic learning.