Since science and technology are becoming more and more important in modern society, schools should spend more time on teaching these subjects rather than on arts and humanities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Science and technology, in recent years, are becoming more and more essential. It is a thoughtable issue that which kind of subject should the campus spend more time on. I tend to agree that schools concentrate more on teaching science and technology rather than on arts and humanities.

To begin with, courses related to science and technology, should provide more practical skills. The whole society is full of high technology in nowadays. Grasp these skills not only convenient to our life but also improve the quality of our job. Obviously, people will be eliminated in social competition if they have less knowledge about these. Moreover, the person will gets more job opportunities which acquires much more science and technology skills. With the developing of many technology companies, more and more science talents are needed. So society will welcome a large quantity of people who is good at this area. At last, since science and technology are the primary productive force. Campus spending more time on teaching these subjects can cultivate more talents about this field. Then they can contribute their ability to the thriving of our society.

Although science and technology subjects are very important, art and humanities have equal statu. First of all, schools should develop every subjects to fulfill everybody’s different needs. There is also a large number of people prefer art and humanities, they want to make a great achievement on arts and humanities. We should respect their opinions. Besides this, we need multicultural not only in school but also in society. So schools should balance the time of each subjects according to the students’ demand.

Above all, each subject is very essential. Due to the heavy needing of society, however, I tend to agree that schools make more time on teaching science and technology rather than arts and humanities.