Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whether children should be educated to be good citizens by parents or schools has become an ongoing debate in the public. In my view, I think both parents and schools have responsibilities to make sure children are well cultivated on the right track.

It is undeniable that, parents play a critical role in their children’s lives because they spend the most of the time staying with their children, which gives them plenty of opportunities to find out and regulate the behaviour of their children. Parents who have decent and reputable manner in society play as example of good citizens for children to imitate. For instance, children are more likely to obey traffic rules if their parents do so. Meanwhile, children tend to be more cooperative with their parents who cultivate them with care and love, which leads to a smoother education experience.

On the other hand, schools also provide a platform for children to learn and develop their personalities. Not only basic knowledge is introduced during the class but also how to be a mentally healthy person in society is taught in children’s schooling time. Moreover, living with peers in schools might be the best practice for children to improve their social and communication skills, which keeps them to think how to well adapt to the society. By taking part in various interactions, children learn how to respect each other and be more cooperative.

To sum up, although parents play a pivotal role in educating their children to be adaptive to social morality, the influence from schools also should not be ignored. Thus, in order to be a good citizen in society, efforts from both parents and schools are needed.