Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The majority of scientific research today is conducted and controlled by governments or private companies in all parts of the world. However, there are some arguments about supporting scientific research by corporations. Personally, I believe research should be funded and supervised by the government.

On the one hand, scientific research is the key to finding a solution to society's problems. For example, the government needs to conduct medical research in order to develop vaccines against the Covid-virus. Moreover, research into renewable energies also plays a crucial role in dealing with global warming. These require so many processes that only the government can guarantee and pay for their investments and losses. On top of that, a team of experts who participate in scientific research controlled by the government  will ensure the research process is safe and reliable. This can reduce the risk of scientific research being used for illegal activities. For instance, research into nuclear energy or weapons would be safer in neighbouring countries and would not affect the surroundings if it was carried out under government control.

On the other hand, if research remains in the hands of private corporations, it could be harmful or detrimental to the country. For example, research on weapons, atomic bombs, and chemical drugs should be carried out under strict management. Private organisations can't guarantee the study's safety because they don't have enough testing space. In addition, some private companies are profit-oriented and only think in terms of their own money. For example, they can sell their homemade weapons to gangsters, which can threaten a peace of nations.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government.