Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As scientific research continues to expand, there is an increasing demand for government oversight and regulation, rather than reliance on enterprises. From my perspective, I strongly agree with this idea, and this essay will thoroughly explain why.

On one hand, it is commonly held that the government’s optimal goal is to increase the living standards of the inhabitants. Due to the pressure from the public and also the international community, they are aware that they have to conduct research in alignment with ethical and transparent features. Meanwhile companies are more likely to be money-driven; therefore, they may find ways to commercialize products regardless of the rightness. For example, in order to obtain profit to the utmost, a Dutch company specialized in animal husbandry had hired scientists to fake reports about the safety of growth hormones utilized to accelerate the breeding process of cows. Consequently, it damaged the well-being of the consumers and that company was sued later.

Besides, the government can cooperate with other nations to ensure the reliability of studies. Because every nation has their own culture and viewpoint, they can discuss together and arrive at a consensus to bring out an objective result. Illustrative of it is the International Space Station which is a joint of 5 teams from 5 different countries. Astronauts and researchers there collaborate experiments on space so that people can broaden their horizons more about space. However, it should be noticed that the differences in cultural and political standpoints could cause conflicts between countries which could lead to the unfruitfulness of the whole operation.

In conclusion, I wholly concur with the idea that scientific studies should be undertaken by the government rather than companies in virtue of how they aim for morality instead of the profit and also their credibility.