Some people think that young people should follow the traditions of the society. Others think young people are free to behave as individuals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Living in traditional ways has always been a controversial topic for generations. Many people think that the young should follow social customs, while the others argue that individualism is important so they should be free to behave individually.

On the one hand, it is reasonable for adults to insist on teenagers living in traditional ways. Because they have got a lot of valuable experiences from their own lives, which they want to pass down to their children. Besides, following culturally related traditions helps people shape their cultural identity. For instance, many Vietnamese-Americans still wear Vietnam’s traditional customs and celebrate the Tet holiday in America, even though they have not lived in their hometown for several years.

On the other hand, teenagers nowadays prefer to live freely so they do not want to be inhibited by social customs. These traditions sometimes make sexist remarks about women and men. That is the reason why they fight for the right to be fair. For example, the percentage of females who are admitted to get a job in a company is always lower than a male's one. It limits social potential. Moreover, some of the social customs are out of date such as getting married at the age of 15 or housework is all for women.

In conclusion, in my view, although there are many aspects of following the traditions, the drawbacks outweigh benefits. So I still believe that people should live freely, but they should follow some traditions that they find interesting, positive, and helpful.