Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Scientific research plays a central role in raising the standard of living. For some, public support for research is preferable to private support, which I entirely agree with.

The private sector argues that it is willing to undertake scientific research, but it is exposed to two significant dangers. Industry support research findings are sometimes manipulated to highlight its advantage features which lead to the exaggeration of product quality. This misconduct, which is aim to maximize the corporate ‘s profit, no doubt fuel public skepticism of industry research. In terms of ethical perspective, numerous scandals related to health issues have been occurring day by day, which causes outrage among the community. Stories of pharmaceutical companies conducting less than rigorous clinical trials for the benefit of their marketing departments, or the tobacco industry steadfastly rebutting the connection between smoking and cancer in the face of mounting evidence help explain public concern about industry-funded science.

Although governments have to allocate resources to many fields of public spending, it is essential that they be responsible for scientific research. Firstly, the principle of disinterestedness, which has long been an ideal in the realm of science, is held firmly by the public–support researches. For the sake of society, government – decision making is the best way to prioritize expenditure on specific areas of research. Besides, these papers, which are not designed to break into new markets or to gain a competitive advantage, are always available for sharing worldwide throughout the academic community. Finally, researches conducted by national institutions, with the assistance of the state budget, are regarded as posing little threat. For this reason, myriad major projects in transport, environment, military, astronomy,… with enormous investments which merely government can afford to and implement.

In conclusion, I agree strongly with the view that governments should bear sole responsibility for scientific research.