Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Arguments have been made over whether governments or private companies should be in charge of scientific research. In my opinion, it would be better if governments take responsibility for this kind of business.

Research carried out under the control of the governments are clearly superior to the ones carried out by private companies in terms of safety. Laws and rules introduced by the authorities to their laboratories would protect scientists and local residents against the risk of incidence. For example, strong safety culture in academic laboratories, which includes safe equipment systems, is an essential element in the daily work of researchers. However, if unfortunate events happened, the governments would be the most powerful force to confront the problems and deal with them. Research on nuclear energy with its potential innovations yet dangerous uncertainties is a case in point, of which the governments have to take responsibility to build adequate safeguards to prevent people from harm.

Scientific research is often conducted for a long time before they yield harmless and valuable outcomes, by which the government is the one who has enough time and money to invest in these long-term studies. Private companies, however, fear that their expenditure would exceed income and eventually take advantage of incomplete, or improper research. A well-known example is putting genetically modified foods to the market before scientists had carefully analysed, which is considered to be an irresponsible decision. Experiment on animals at pharmaceutical companies is also a controversial topic that many claim to be cruel and unnecessary.

In conclusion, scientific research has many requirements and should be carried out only under proper control of governments.