Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

In the history of humankind, both the governments and private corporations carried out scientific research across the world. While some people believe that companies should be totally in charge in these research, I think that the governments will take care of this better.

Instead of private companies, the government should be responsible for scientific research. The most important factor is that money has never been a problem of states. By earning much money through many methods such as taxes and business, the governments have an annual income, thereby not worrying about financial issues. This means that solving social problems will be prioritized instead of maximizing profits which is the main purpose of private companies. The governments will concentrate on problems, which are serious to humankind and the Earth but can not earn much profits by solving these like inventing new potions to cure rare diseases, and sell it with a lower price than corporations’ to poor patients. Moreover, the results of these research will not be kept as a secret but widely publicized so that not only citizens of these countries but also every people on the world, especially developing countries, can use it to improve their life.

There are two reasons why the private sector should not undertake scientific research. First, the main purpose of them is maximizing profits, not solving problems of humankind. This is an indication that they are willing to cheat their customers by selling fake medicines to earn money. A clear illustration of this is that Pharma, which is a famous medical company in Vietnam, sold a huge amount of medicine to treat cancer but the police found out that it has no function at all. Second, the effect of results which is provided by that scientific research may be out of our hand. For example, there is a Chinese scientist who changed human gene to make us be invulnerable to HIV but most of scientists in the world agreed that we can not control the effect of this research at this time.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that it is better if the government is responsible in scientific research than private companies.