Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

At present, scientific researches across the world are being carried out and monitored sometimes by governments, sometimes by private enterprises. However, it is a matter of debate whether these researches should be undertaken by the former or the latter. From my point of view, it is best that these two aforementioned subjects should cooperate in scientific researches.

There is a strong argument why scientific researches should not be done only by the government, because of these two reasons. Firstly, it is evident that scientific research requires a huge amount of money to be conducted, so that this problem would become an overwhelming burden on the national budget and it could be imbalanced spending if the state improperly invested in such projects. Secondly, there have been many corporations conducting valuable researches for over the past few decades, and the results were quite associated with market needs. This is mainly because private companies are market-oriented so they always come up with inventions that have practical values, which can increase productivity and improve life, in such areas as cosmetics and medicines.

On the contrary, although private companies are given the right to do scientific research, they must be strictly monitored by the governments. It is undeniable that these institutions are profit-driven, they spend their money wisely to ensure maximum benefits and every resource is used effectively to avoid waste. However, some of them might be doing illegal researches. For example, some companies focused on developing biochemical weapons, some carried out inadequate trials which resulted in the birth of the cloning, hence threatening the world’s peace. Therefore, the government should use its power to prevent these kinds of researches and protect the public’s security.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that governments and private companies should be actively involved in scientific researches, with sufficient and proper monitoring from the former.