Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, how much freedom for children should be given becomes a matter of controversy. People who against boundless liberty to children hold that allowing children too much freedom would create selfish individuals in young generations while others opine that it is necessary to nurture their sense of responsibility and to maintain self-reliant manner. I personally believe that children should have the right to decide matters that have influences on them.

There are several reasons why parents argue that giving room to children to make their own choices on daily matters is likely to generate selfishness. Granted that parents give their children allowance to pick their favourite related to garments or entertainment, the latter might not be aware of their family financial situation which can make them prodigal with the top trending but unnecessary items. Although the young understand that these items seem to be improper and beyond their budget, they are only concerned about what they want and insist on owning them. Moreover, since teens are not mature enough, they might not have enough experience to deal with the lure of society, which would result in severe consequences, physically and mentally.

Despite the preceding arguments, I support the idea that teens should be given the freedom to make decisions themselves. Apparently, children’s brain could learn how to make hard choices by weighting both sides of their decision when considering, thereby improving the ability to cope with challenges in later life. More importantly, having permission to decide not only helps children reduce the stress of feeling helpless or being controlled by former generations but it also helps consolidate their self-esteem. In school, teachers often boost their students’ performances by encouraging them to discuss matters they met when doing an assignment, hence enhancing their creativity and negotiating ability.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that involving children in decision-making since their childhood should be encouraged.