Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that the governments should take charge in handling and conducting scientific research rather than let private companies do that. I totally agree with this argument and my essay will analyze its advantages.

It is risky and under controlled if private companies have right to carry out scientific studies due to some reasons. First, results of the research can be wrong which stem from financial motivation. For example, thalidomide, produced by a private pharmaceutical company with purpose of treating morning sickness during pregnancy, was found to cause severe birth defects. The second which cannot be overlooked is that in terms of ethical, impact of these research on society is not the priority. For instant, GM crops are concerned by EU because it is likely to affect human’s health but they are still popular worldwide due to profit purpose.

Therefore, it is better to let the Governments take responsibility of controlling scientific research. First, the universities have abilities to conduct high qualified research and share knowledge. Some prestigious universities such as Harvard and Oxford which are known of schools of gifted students and lecturers have been researching numerous famous practical studies. Second, consumption for some research fields can be arranged due to their priorities. For example, renewable energy sector is highly concentrated to develop by most developed nations over the world on account of its influence on the Earth and human being.

In conclusion, after analyzing some drawbacks of scientific research carried out by private companies, I entirely agree with the opinion that the government should take responsibility of conducting those studies.