Traffic and accommodation problems are increasing and Government should encourage some businesses to move from cities to rural areas. Does advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

An increasing number of traffic transportations and buildings is overwhelming, so some businesses are encouraged to relocate from urban areas to less crowded cities. While I believe this will bring certain advantages, I am convinced that it is likely to have many disadvantages on society.

Undoubtedly, there are some disadvantages for the movement of organizations from cities to countries. The major problem is that companies might face the risk of losing their high-quality workforce. It becomes clear that not everyone is willing to settle down in the suburbs where there is the lack of restaurants, shopping centers and public transit vehicles so they would seek another job to maintain their current living standards. Whereas, most people living in the small towns and villages do not sufficient education to undertake intellectual jobs because skilled workers are a rarity in rural areas. Consequently, enterprises might waste their time and money to train their new employees.

Nevertheless, I believe moving business and their facilities to rural areas would be much more beneficial. Firstly, such relocation of companies will cause urban populations to shrink substantially. If cooperations like Samsung offer accommodation to their employees near their workplaces, people from rural areas who work for those companies would no longer have to travel to city centers to work, thus this will relieve pressure on urban housing supply system as well as reducing traffic congestion during rush hours. Secondly, by adopting the policy, the firms could create more job opportunities, boosting the development of deprived areas. For example, countryside dwellers can opt to work in factories with higher pay rather than agricultural work which help them improve their standard of living, thereby paving the way for the growth of national economy.

In conclusion, after analyzing the pros and cons of business relocation, I think the merits is likely to outweigh the demerits. However, the Government should consider seriously to find out the best solution to deal with this hot problem.