Some people say that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

While some people think that a country can be not only successful in terms of economy but also have a clean environment, others do not have the same opinion. Both sides of the argument will be analyzed and then I will elaborate my own opinion.

It is understandable that some people believe both developed economy and unpolluted environment can co-exist in one nation due to some reasons. First, thanks to tremendous capital capability, affluent countries have been applying their breakthroughs in science and technology in figuring out alternative energy sources which are environmentally friendly and sustainable. It is predicted that in the next 5 decades, oil, coal, gas and other fossil fuels will be totally replaced.

Secondly, countries whose natural habitats is well-preserved benefit from the influx of tourists worldwide in the form of eco-tourism, the “non-smoke” industry. In contrast, nations that are trading off their environment for temporary financial advantages will lose their most precious resources.

On the other hand, there are some reasons why others believe that a developed country cannot have a clean environment. First, a prosperous economy is associated with industrial development, which required enormous amount of energy source and raw materials, ranging from wood to coal. This implicates that the more developed an economy becomes, the more its environment is exploited and the more fumes is released from manufacturing operations. Second, as a result of more advanced economy, citizens with higher living standard have increasingly greater demand for consumer goods which leads to a dramatical increase in waste and sewage.

After analyzing both sides of the argument, my own opinion is that it is difficult for a country to have a strong economy and a clean environment because we depend mainly on energy sources and do not have an efficient solution to deal with this matter, which results in a seriously environmental problem worldwide.