Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that the governments should do and conduct the scientific research not private enterprises. This essay agrees with this statement because of the benefits and the safety of the community.

From the perspective of private companies, some scientific researches which are carried out by private enterprises can lead some negative or even the serious influences on society. An explanation for this is that the company values the profit above the result and the effect of the research. Hence, the enterprises would invest in scientific researches which bring the financial benefit for them even that research can cause the negative influence on community and society. The experiment on developing fossil fuels such as gas, for instance, can release hazardous wastes and these wastes cause many dangerous effects on the environment in the long-term period, but these sources can bring the huge profit for the company in the short time, so many private enterprises would still invest in this research, no matter how it can destroy the environment.

From the perspective of governments, the safety and the benefit of society are the first priority of the governments. So government would do the scientific researches which can bring the benefits to the community and society. Furthermore, instead of caring about the profit, the governments would focus on ensuring the high-quality of product of the research and the safety of the people who use it. For example, although the experiment on producing renewable energy may waste a large amount of money and time, yet the governments still invest in it, this is because when the research completed, it will be beneficial for the environment and society.

In conclusion, governments should take the responsibility in doing and controlling the scientific research because the merits and safety of the society.