Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, some scientific research in the world is implemented and supervised by the governments, and some by private corporations. While some people support the studies of companies, I still believe that this area should be managed by the state.

On the one hand, scientific research of private corporations can cause some negative impacts for particular aspects. To begin with, the result of these studies is often influenced by profit targets, which can lead to some regrettable mistakes. One of the most dramatic proofs is the case of "thalidomide" – a kind of medicine is produced by Gruenenthal, a German company. In the 20th century, it has caused a disaster when thousands of people were deformed by the side effect of this drug; and the major reason was that this business wanted quickly to earn money rather than create value for the community's health. In other words, some research may be limited because their scale involves ethical issues and is not controlled by governments. For example, the research relating to gene change in animals always is a controversial problem. Many people argue that it is immoral as carrying out experiments into the body of living creatures, especially when no official organizations observe these actions

On the other hand, there are some reasons why governments should directly conduct and be responsible for scientific research. The first reason is that urgent studies will always receive assistance from the state in both the capital and labor. For instance, at present, renewable energy is a sector that is emphasized in every country because natural energy such as coal, gas increasingly disappears, which threats seriously to human's survival. Therefore, governments always provide the best conditions to enhance the research successfully and bring the earth's future. Additionally, the achievement of the study can be shared with other nations for general goals instead of only focusing on return. Most research that is funded by the government aims to service global issues such as climate change, which may bring benefits across the whole world, including poorer countries throughout the connection among nations.

In conclusion, I agree completely with the opinion that governments should bear solely responsible for scientific research.