Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

Today, there is a growing trend toward language uniformity. While many suppose that this should be seen as progress, I tend towards the viewpoint that its serious consequences would prevent this to happen.

There are several reasons in favor of using a universal language. The key rationale is that it has a host of benefits in terms of education. This is due to the fact that children from underprivileged nations are provided more opportunities towards modern education from developed countries such as Germany and the USA since people can have a grasp of the free lectures on the Internet. Moreover, the advocate might argue that speaking a common language would lead to economic growth. In the light of fewer language barriers, trade would flourish between countries, since language is the biggest obstacle in this field. There is a likelihood that an escalating number of foreign companies would penetrate the market and approach local consumers. There seems to be a symbiotic relationship as both nations and consumers are mutually beneficial.

Nevertheless, I am of the opinion that when countries adopt the same official language, it would bring unwanted repercussions. The most compelling is that it would pose a threat to the diversity of nation’s cultures. Given the fact that national identity is preserved in its native tongue, thus if there is only one language is used in the world, the cultural values might be lost. Vietnam is a case in point. In order to resist the great foreign influence through films as well as music, we are striving to produce more and more high-quality domestics ones to entice the viewers. Secondly, this negative trend can result in the collapse in tourism. This is because people would no longer feel the need to travel since every place of the world are the same in terms of language to culture, which are considered to be two of the primary reasons to explore a country.

In conclusion, there may be reasons to advocate the citizens from all over the world to speak one language, yet I believe that it would be impossible since its greater drawbacks.