Scientists and news media are presenting the evidences of climate change. Governments cannot be expected to solve this problem. It is the responsibility of individuals to change their lifestyle to prevent further damage. What are your views?

These days governments around the world seem busy discussing the environmental issues and devising ways to solve them. However, there is a debate among the people that whether individual should change the life style or it is the responsibility of government to address the problem. In my opinion, active participation of both is essential for the success of any initiative aimed at curbing this problem.

To begin with, several steps can be taken by government to improve environmental conditions. Firstly, industries are responsible for the large proportion of green house gas emission and it can be controlled by government’s actions, as government can take measures to discourage pollution by limiting or taxing the use of fossil fuels. Alternatively, subsidies can be provided to industries for clean up production process and by this business will link pollution to profitability. Secondly, it is necessary to conduct discussions between governments to ensure that measures taken are successful. For example, impact of environmental destruction in one country may affect many nations not only the culprit, so cooperation is needed to reduce environmental destruction.

However, individuals also have big part to play in environmental protection. All national and international polices made for environment only succeed when individuals cooperate and change their lifestyle. To illustrate, people can reduce electricity use by installing efficient light bulbs and electrical appliances or installing solar panels. In addition, changing transportation attitude, by travelling short distances by cycle or walk, people can save lot of fossil fuel and prevent pollution.

To recapitulate, with combination of international cooperation, government initiatives and individual participation further damage to environment can be reduced if not stopped.