Scientists have been warning for many years about importance of protecting the environment and that we must

limit the use of energy in our daily lives. Despite warnings many people do not do this. What are the reasons and

how people can be encouraged to take an interest in protecting environment?

Despite warnings from scientists for decades to safeguard environment, many people ignore such warnings and

continue using energy sources in routine lives. There are myriad of reasons attributed for such careless behavior,

which warrants effective steps to address it.

As world is witnessing drastic climate changes since few decades, scientists have proven that limiting utilization

of energy sources and conserving them by applying alternative energy sources will protect environment in some

way. However, many people continue to waste energy sources and act irresponsibly. The most prominent reason is

selfish and helpless attitude among masses. Many believes that individual citizen could not prove beneficial to

conserve natural energy resources and the onus lies on the government to protect it. Hence, they lack vision and

education to take effective steps towards environment protection. For example, during traffic at a signal, many

individuals' fail to switch off vehicles when halted.

Another, most important factor, high cost of alternative energy sources, which is beyond scope of common man affordability quotient. For example, Solar panels installed at rooftop of apartments and houses for heating water requires a great deal of investment. Similarly, new innovation in the form of electric cars and bicycles are very costly and not amenable for average middle class families.

However, to tackle climate crisis and global warming, education, motivation and implementation is necessary at

individual and community levels. Schools and colleges should conduct practical classes to educate pupil and

transform them into a responsible citizen towards environment. At community level, various social, cultural and

public programmes' should be conducted to create awareness and sensitivity towards natural energy resources.

For example, in India, during many festivals hoardings containing messages for energy conservation are

displayed. Lastly, government should mobilize funds in order to make alternative energy resources cheap.

To conclude, to make planet earth habitable for future generations, each one has to adopt strong and effective

methods to safeguard our energy sources and limit further climate crisis.